Let’s talk about the Cubs

I’ve been fortunate enough to not have to worry about poor management of my favorite baseball team for a couple of years now.  I had my worries about Ned Colletti at first, but he’s definitely made some smarter decisions in the past few years (Josh Bell and Carlos Santana trades aside).

The two teams I’m glad I am not a fan for are the New York Mets and, now, the Chicago Cubs.

The Cubs announced today they’re going to move Carlos Zambrano to the bullpen.  Carlos Zambrano signed a 5-year/$91.5 million deal that began in 2008 and now the Cubs announced today they’ll move him to the bullpen as their set-up guy.

I won’t argue against the contract, we’re all biased because of the outcome and, frankly, I didn’t think it was a bad signing at the time–though knowing what I know now, I definitely think it wasn’t a good one.  The big problem here is this:

“I told him we really needed him in the bullpen,” Piniella told reporters in New York before facing the Mets, according to the Chicago Sun-Times. “We felt he could do a really nice job for us there.

“He said he would do what’s best for the team. I’m very appreciative. We’ve talked about maturing. This proves it to me.”

Piniella also might have said this is a very real and possibly not temporary solution.

I would argue in favor of this if the Cubs had a) a reasonable solution to replace him and b) members of the staff who are better than him already.  This is a quick, gut-decision move based on a few bad starts.  It’s a severe lack of understanding on sample size.

Thank goodness this doesn’t happen on the Dodgers …………. right?

Leave a comment

Filed under MLB

Leave a Reply

